top of page

An Angel Once Told Me

That she loved me, that things were okay,

That sometimes, when the skies thundered, and even when

The clouds were conscious of my existence,

The days could be worse than others.

“And that”, she whispered close to my ear, tickling the back

Of my neck,

“Is okay.”


Fireworks and sunsets rose to the sky

As I wondered about how the days could fly

This fast, so fast, that I was never able to

Catch up.


In my bed, drowning my pillowcase with tears,

I’ve left my soul for another to pick it up,

In hopes of reincarnating into something

Less hateful and more lovely.


An angel had to stop me, though, before I could

Go any further, before I could manage to leave entirely.

Fingers thin, she stroked my cheek and held my hands in hers,

And for the first time

In a long time, my heart beat warmth and not ice.

I already knew she was an angel, just by the way she carried herself

And me within the tips of her skin,

But I couldn’t see her wings. Where were her wings? She needs her

Wings to fly, doesn’t she? Where are her wings?


A tear swam down my cheek, kissing me until it dropped into the midst

Of nothing and everything. The angel wiped it away.

Take the narrow path, she murmured. Think of the stars above, waiting for you

To fly as high as they. You can do it, can’t you? I shook my head, biting my lips

So hard that they bled, blood dripping down onto my chin thicker than water.

Your wings, I wanted to cry out. What happened to your wings?


No, no, no, she put a finger to my lips. We aren’t here for my

Wings, after all. They are long gone. I needed to hear the answers, but her hair,

A majestic brown, trickled down her back and swayed with her white

Dress. I wished to touch it so much that I became distracted.

Wake up, darling, she whispered to me. Take one step, even if that’s the only step you take

All day. And don’t thank me.

Thank yourself when you do.


I smiled and stumbled as her being became blurred and touch became

Nothing. But I closed my eyes again to dream,

And then wake to a world of many suns and moons.

She was right to stop me, I laughed at myself, lopsidedly, and face tilted to the left.

I have more to offer, don’t I?


- Hannah Chen


Cover Photo Source: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/476607573041801695/

bottom of page